Blob Matching
Farid from Netherlands  [2 posts]
14 year
Hi, I am new with the application and hope to be able to take a snapshot of seprate blobs I managed to distinguish so that I can perform Image matching on every single blob. the task is to identify seprate words written in MS word environment and compare each word with images of words in the inventory so that desired words are identified and proceeding actions could take place.  
Anonymous from United Kingdom  [99 posts] 14 year
Yikes the overall project sounds tough.  To address your question.

Using the blob filter you have to option to return a blob array.  This will give you the center of each blob.  You can then create image markers and crop the image centered on the center of each blob with parameters from the bounding box of each blob (effectively isolating each blob)  Now you just have to run a good classifier against each blob against your library.  Maybe the image match module would help you here.  I might spend some time testing the classifier against your training database before worrying about the image segmentation problem.

good luck!
profmason
Anonymous 14 year
Farid,

You may also have a look at the shape matching module. As you are probably getting a very precise graphic from MS Word the shape matching (after some sort of thresholding) should work quite well.

Perhaps you can also include a sample graphic that you are working with and we can see if the Shape Matching might work.

Something similar to

http://www.roborealm.com/tutorial/Digital_Reader/slide010.php

may work.

STeven.
Farid from Netherlands  [2 posts] 14 year
Dear Steven,