Photoelectric Eye
Anonymous
17 year
Does anyone have any suggestions on how to use a photoelectric sensor as an input that could be used as an external signal to trigger an analysis of a usb cam image. Any help would be appreciated.
Anonymous 17 year

That would depend on what the photoelectric sensor is connected to. Is it a PC or a microcontroller? Also, I'm a little confused as to why a photoelectric sensor would be used instead of just using the usb cam image to look for the same photo trigger? Is the sensor in a different location than the camera?

STeven.
Anonymous 17 year
I am new to RoboRealm and vision in general. I am tinkering with developing a machine vision application. My thought was that I wanted to trigger a specific moment when roborealm should analyze the constant imagery being provided by my webcam. In other words I want to analyze my video image once a moving part is centered in the video frame. Not before or after. Not sure how to do this. I am also trying to figure out how I could control actuators, air blast valve etc. that would run on 12V electricity. I currently use PLC's to do this but am not sure how to interface my computer with I/O that is common to sensors, actuators etc. not sure how to do this with the paralell port interface. Any help would greatly be appreciated. I am having great fun with roboRealm.
tawsif from Mauritius  [7 posts] 17 year
if I am not mistaken buddy, u are trying to detect the presence or absence of something in the field of view of the camera and then take appropriate decisions   using ur PLC.
to detect the presence or absence of an intruder, u should constantly subtract the frame which u are receiving with the previous one. I think Roborealm contains a module that will do this task for u.
I have tried the parallel port module of RR and it works well.