Roborealm + Kuka Robot
Victor Navratil from Romania  [3 posts]
7 year
Hello!

My name is Victor, i am a student, in the final master year.
I (me and another colleague) have as a final project, to implement visual recognition, on a Kuka robot, with Roborealm software.
The robot is KR-15 with KRC2 controller.

Regarding this project, i have some questions:
1)which would be a better communication channel? ethernet or serial?
2)how can the robot retrieve the information sent? does he need some other software/addons
3)can he process information realtime?

Any ideas, suggestions, tips, would be of great help!
Thank you very much!
Have a great day, and sorry for my poor english!
Steven Gentner from United States  [273 posts] 7 year
Victor,

1. Assuming you don't have any huge data requirements either Ethernet or Serial will be fine. I would use whatever you are more familiar with for now.

2. You'd have to become very familiar with the KRC2 controller and understand how information can be enter into the system remotely or can grab information remotely. We don't have a module that will communicate with a KRC2 controller directly mainly because we've not had access to the robot.

3. Realtime processing is relative to what you are trying to do. I.e. what you are asking is if processing can be done fast enough for the needed task. That depends on the actual task and how much processing is needed with how much processing power is available.

What I would first research is how you can control the robot either using Ethernet or Serial to be able to command it to move where you want it to. Once you understand how this works you can better understand how to work in RR to send those appropriate commands.

STeven.
Victor Navratil from Romania  [3 posts] 7 year
Hello Steven,

Thank you very much for the information! Greatly appreciated!
It gave me clues on what to do next.
Have a great day!

Victor
Victor Navratil from Romania  [3 posts] 7 year
Hello!