need help stretching image
Mark Etheridge from United States  [7 posts]
14 year
I have a lens that has a little over 180deg FOV and I want to stretch the image to make it square. It is on a ccd camera and is not 100% centered up on the imager. I plan to fix this later. Can anyone help me get started on this?

Thanks,
Mark

Mark Etheridge from United States  [7 posts] 14 year
I switched the lens to different camera that allowed me to center the lens but the camera is crap. I'll use it for now. I was able to get a decent picture by putting the camera flat on the floor pointing it up at the ceiling. So here is a before and after and the .robo. file. I also posted a new forward looking image without the top being cut off.

This is my first try with roborealm so if this could be done a better way please let me know.

Is there a way to modify the image like I asked in my original post? I would really like to use the camera forward looking and get rid of the black area.

thanks,
Mark

program.robo
Anonymous 14 year
Mark,

Actually we have been looking into this. While the polar module works quite well for ceiling point cameras we are trying to adapt the same technique for forward looking. Normally one uses the Radial_Distortion module to correct for these kinds of effects but that is normally used in conjunction with a calibration grid as manually adjusting the different polynomial coefficients can be very tricky.

We are continuing to look into this and should hopefully have an easy to use module to correct the forward looking view somewhat. Note that regardless of the correction there will be some form of warping in the image ... ie in the polar module the resulting floor and ceiling are stretched ... this will most likely be the case in the forward looking too. But the image will be much straighter and more usable regardless.

If you have a chance, take a couple more images with the forward looking view so that we have some more images to test with.