Purpose of Vb script
Dario Mirkovski from Macedonia, Former Yugoslav Republic  [20 posts]
15 year
Hello, Im new in this field and need some help.

I am working with LEGO NXT, a robot which has to pick up a ball and place it on to a specific place.

The tutorial, it mentiones VBscript.
What is the purpose of the script? Beside finding the state, can also send commands in terms of how far is the robot and how much it should travel to pick up the object?

Thank you in advance.

Dario

Anonymous 15 year
Dario,

The VBScript module is mainly for quick scripting and changing of variables that are then used in other modules. The way the tutorial is written uses VB to change the values of the motor values which are then used in the Lego NXT module to send those values to the robot. So it is like a call to the Lego NXT but through the use of variables instead of a function call.

You can use this technique to do what you are asking for but you will have to modify the motor variables to cause the robot to change. Use the state technique to tell where in this procedure you are.

Note that you can also use other languages if you check out the API at

http://www.roborealm.com/help/API.php

which may be more comfortable for you. The same principal is in effect, where you would use an external application to change the variables that are still used by the Lego NXT module.

Note that the controlling of the Lego NXT is entirely vision based. So you don't have access to the encoders directly unless you write an NXT program and use the mailboxes to transfer where the ball is to the NXT which then your program on the NXT will have to decide what to do. Part of the problem here is that you have many possibilities. If you can write what you need onboad the NXT then I'd go with the mailbox approach (send the COG of the detected ball or location) and have the NXT deal with that information.

STeven.
Dario Mirkovski from Macedonia, Former Yugoslav Republic  [20 posts] 15 year
Hello,