RoboRealm works mostly in Linux Wine!
Danh from United States  [79 posts]
15 year
Steve,

Did you know that RoboRealm will mostly run in the latest version of Ubuntu running WINE? I discovered this by chance. My webcam won't connect properly (it almost connects, I see the webcam light flash and then it goes off. I have problems with this cam in other Linux programs). However, I am able to drag and drop graphic files from the Ubuntu desktop into RoboRealm. The image processing functions appear to be working! The webserver works too. I bet it wouldn't be hard to find a workaround to the webcam issue. Perhaps you'll could write a little stand alone Ubunutu webcam server that could be connected to by RoboRealm running under WINE. In fact, I think this linux webcam server software may already exist. I'm new to Linux but maybe others can chime in.

Danh
Danh from United States  [79 posts] 15 year
Here's an update on my RoboRealm experimentation under Ubuntu and Wine.

I was able to get an ip camera to work (DCS-900W) under RoboRealm running in Ubuntu\Wine.  The raw image updated very quickly. However, when I performed an edge detection filter such as Canny there was a huge lag of 2 to 3 seconds. Running the same filter on WinXp didn't have any signifigant lags.

Even though Wine may not be very efficient running vision filters under RoboRealm I was surprised by other functions that worked. The screen capture actually worked in RoboRealm and allowed me to capture a portion of a You Tube video running in Firefox. I was then able to send this video out the RoboRealm webserver without really any noticable delays. Not sure about the CPU resources though.

So the lag for video is probably too much for a robot. However, something like processing a single still image may be acceptable under Linux\Wine.

Looks like I'm gonna stick with using RoboRealm under WinXP for now.

Danh
Anonymous 15 year
Danh,