Sending variables to other processes
Anonymous
15 year
Hi steven
I need some help with getting variables to another C program, Im not an experienced programmer so I dont no how to use IPC sockets and pipes to attain the end goal, but if it requires me to learn im willing.
I sorted out my .robo program and am using the Api to control it but i need to pass a variable say for instance the centre of gravity x to another C Api.

The variable will need to streamed or sent multiple times. Could you recommend a solution, i looked into OSC and i cant find much information in that area. What are your thoughts?

Your help is much appreciated
Thanks mark
Anonymous 15 year
Mark,

There are many options. If you look at

http://www.roborealm.com/help/Integration.php

you can find the technique you would be most comfortable with. Using the API is normally what most people go for. There are examples in the download example API.zip at

http://www.roborealm.com/downloads/API.zip

and you should be able to figure out the C++ example (which can be adapted to a C program) to get a variable. The API is quite simple with the most complex part being the socket open. Using the API and get_variable xml string you should be able to grab that variable.

Alternatively a lot of people have also just used the Write_Variable module to just write a variable to a text file and keep polling that text file in another program to grab the value ... again, lots of possibilities here, probably too many to make an easy decision, yes?

STeven.

Anonymous 15 year
Thanks so much Steven
i chose to go the socket route with sending variables from your API (roborealm) to another C program I created, but Im having difficulties getting a variable repeatedly and displaying it.