Logitech Sphere / Orbit AF
Dennis Onstenk from Italy  [1 posts]
16 year
Hi all,
I have been following this forum and found it very useful, if way above my head. I cannot find any information regarding the setup to have a motorised webcam pan left-right and a continuous and preset manner. It 'should' be easy - but I am no programmer.

Could anyone please point me in the right direction?

So far I found that eyespyfx.com makes it very easy for users to control the webcam, but I find that half the time it is pointing at something useless.

I am looking for two possible solutions, and I am prepared to pay for a functioning script:
- I set up presets that visitors can select
- The cam pans slowly from left to right

Here is the cam: http://www.incalabria.com/Webcam-Tropea-Live.html

Thank you in advance!

Dennis Onstenk
Italy.
Anonymous 15 year
Dennis,

We have update the index.html page that comes with the RoboRealm.zip download to include both presets and auto-panning. The auto-panning is easy, just click on the auto button and the camera starts moving on its own.

To change the presets you will have to edit the index.html page and change the parameters in

<input type="button" value="Preset #1" onclick="setVariable('preset=5,0')">

to some other values. You will have to guess at the values since the Logitech does not have absolute positioning ... they range from -20 to 20. The best way to determine a good number is through trial and error.

STeven.

NairB from United Kingdom  [41 posts] 15 year
Steven,

I downloaded this new version and also the move_orbit.robo file and I cannot seem to get "auto" or the presets to work.

I have the both the move_orbit.robo file running and the Logitech_Orbit file.

To get the left, right, up, down buttons to work I "edit" the Logitech_orbit file and se the variable to "move"

What am i doing wrong?

-NairB :(
Dave from United States  [84 posts] 15 year
Hi NairB