Any recommendations for wireless webcams?
Anonymous
16 year
Hi,

Firstly, apologies for the newbie question, I'm very new to RoboRealm and have never used a wireless web cam.

I'm looking to use RoboRealm to control a Lego Mindstorms NXT car, with an IP camera being used for vision.

Can anyone recommend a good wireless web cam to use that will work with RoboRealm?

Thanks,

James
Anonymous 16 year
James,

there are many options here. Use the search to find other posts in this forum that have covered this topic. In the meantime you can also have a look at

http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?invtid=USB-240C-VID&cpc=SCH

which is decent and reasonably priced. Note that it has both the camera transmission and NTSC to USB digitizer that you'd need to purchase in addition to any other NTSC type camera.

STeven.
from United States  [214 posts] 16 year
Hello,

I have a 1.2 GHz wireless camera from Sparkfun that can be seen at:

http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=616

The camera seems to work well in terms of frame rate and signal quality; however, the colors are terrible as the images below demonstrate.  I'm posting this message to ask if others have seen similar washed out colors with these types of cameras or is it likely that there is something wrong with the one I have.  More to the point, if you get good colors with your wireless camera, please post the model.

I am posting 6 images.  The first three are from a Creative Labs Live! Voice USB webcam connected directly to my computer.  I have all the auto settings turned off and the exposure turned all the way down--that's why the first "Raw" image is so faint.  However, I find that the RoboRealm color balancing filters give me good compensation while allowing me to obtain higher frame rates than are possible with the Creative auto settings turned on.