Matching algorithms
Gabriel  [1 posts]
17 year
I'm pretty new to RR, but  it would seem to me that the Image_Match and Object_Tracking are among some of the most useful tools in the kit.  Unfortunately, I can not find any information which gives me a glimse to how they work, such as black/hite, gray or color, etc.  Could someone give me a brief explaination of these?

Also, being very new to vision, there seem to be a ton of really cool filters like edge detection in the package.  Finding edges is cool, but what do I do with that?  Like what is the general theory for once you find the edges in a room, you can then navigate it.

Thanks,

Gabriel
Machine Vision
Anonymous
17 year
Gabriel,

Those tools are a little underdocumented since we're actually still working on how they function as we're not happy with their general performance. They are very useful but only in specific circumstances. For example, the "Image_Match" module is ok at locating scenes that have not changed very much. They are good at detecting that the robot is looking at the living room again versus the kitchen but can only do so when in the approximate location as when the image was first taken. If significant things have changed like furniture has been moved or it is now evening but the initial image was taken in the morning the matching will probably not work.