Output C/C++
Grant Samms from United States  [2 posts]
10 year
Hello,

So, first off, I am new to the world of CV and coding. I am a biology student working on a senior thesis that requires CV. I am also learning C++ (Brave new world). I tell you this so that you have background on my programming knowledge, which is scant to say the least.

I would like to take the CV routine that I have developed in the RoboRealm pipeline and write it as a C/C++ file. From there I am going to write code for some of the other features on my robot. The robot will have on-board computing, but not enough to run an application like RoboRealm.

Effectively I want to use the algorithm developed in RoboRealm (written as an external C/C++ file) and embed it in a series of if/then C++ code.

Is it possible to write an external C/C++ file from the routine that I develop in RoboRealm? And if so, how?

Thank you,
~~Grant
Steven Gentner from United States  [1446 posts] 10 year
Grant,

It is possible but only with a lot of work. RoboRealm is deceptively simple in that it hides a lot of what is going on in the background to make things easier to work with. This is sometimes a good thing, and sometimes a bad thing.

If you want to take what you have in RR and translate it into something else I'd start reviewing all possible other libraries that you could use to help you get a head start:

http://www.roborealm.com/links/vision_software.php

Most end up with OpenCV but that's not recommended for the beginner programmer so give yourself sufficient time to get up to speed.

The other possibility is to use a wireless camera connected from your robot back to a PC that is running RR. That reduces the power requirements on the robot and allows you as much computing power as you need ... but this depends on the requirements of your project which we are obviously not aware of.