Reading Variables in C#
Jack SO from Hong Kong  [8 posts]
17 year
May I ask how to read the variable via socke with C#? I tried exploring the extension package but failed to find the way to read the variables such as COG_X or COG_AREA

Thanx a lot.
Anonymous 17 year

Hi,

I am not an expert.

But perhaps this information can help until an expert answers  : )

To see the available variables you can use this:

http://www.roborealm.com/help/Watch.php

To GET and SET variable from another program, like C#, use this:

http://www.roborealm.com/help/API.php

Hi to Hong Kong!

Reading Variables in C#
Anonymous
17 year
Jack,

In the C# Extension you will see this part of code:

if (name.Equals("name"))
  {
   imageData.name = name;
  }
  else

which is used to look for a variable called "name". To adapt an extension to use another variable you would add in something like:

if (name.Equals("another_var_name"))
  {
    int myIntVar = byteToInt(data);
  }
  else

or something like that.

As the last post mentions we're not sure if you really want to use an
Extension or the API.

Extensions are modules controlled by RoboRealm whereas the API is mean to control RoboRealm.

Extensions allow you to create new modules that will be called on each iteration of the processing loop. They are meant to be incorporated into RoboRealm in order to "extend" the applications modules. The ARE guaranteed to get each image that is processed by RoboRealm and will receive all variables that are current with the application. They can also stop the processing loop (dll only). RoboRealm will NOT run without a required extension and thus you need to make sure your extension is always available (or it is automatically loaded if a dll).