Communicating  the presence of a blob to Arduino
Anonymous  [6 posts]
7 year
Hi. I am new to RR and so putting my query with great hope. My project is to detect the internal defects in an egg. This can be done when an egg is candled i.e glowing a bulb beneath the egg in a dark environment. One kind of defect in an egg is the presence of bloody spots and veins. One such kind of image is . Whereas   is a picture of an acceptable egg.

To detect the bloody spots and veins, I have increased intensity and decreased the contrast, after which I have applied median filter to remove noise and then the image is converted into grayscale

Now I want to convert the bloody area into a blob by converting into binary image (blood area in white, black area for the rest of egg and background). The presence of that  blob would then be communicated to my micro controller Arduino mega 2560. It would then, lets say turn on a motor if it finds a bloody egg. I am not sure of what variables we would use to communicate to Arduino

I'd be grateful for any help you may give!

Steven Gentner from United States  [1446 posts] 7 year
Zehan,

Attached is a robofile that should help you along the way. The trick is to eliminate any good egg and identify when a red mass is present in a bad egg. This can be done through a couple filters that use color as a main quality to look for that red mass. The other modules help to eliminate the background from the image to just focus on a red mass inside the egg. We detect the mass by the LACK of yellow color ... so the logic is inversed in that we detect good areas and invert that to show the bad area ... but because the background is black we need to use a couple modules to just focus in on the area inside the egg.