navigation by computer vision
hemant from India  [15 posts]
8 year
am writing a simple vbscript for navigation of car by computer vision ie. image processing
i want to send serial commands forward , left and right .
but i cannot understant where to right the serial commands in the serial module and how  !!
pls help !
Steven Gentner from United States  [1446 posts] 8 year
What serial protocol are you using? I.e. what commands (like 'f' for forward, 'b' for back) do you need to send over serial?

STeven.
hemant from India  [15 posts] 8 year
I am using 'l' for left , 'r' for right , 'f' for forward and 's' for stop.
we have used floor finder module to detect the road in vlc module and center of gravity module to find the correction required .
I am an amateur and have jus started the coding .
I have attached the corresponding robofile.
Pls suggest the obvious changes Steven .
thank you
program.robo
steven
please omit the attached robofile .
consider the one attached here.
thank you
program.robo
Your robofile looks about right. You may need a newline after the move command in the serial module. So that would be more like

[move]<cr>

but that will now depend on what is receiving the signal on the other end of the serial cable. Do you have access to that device or are you following an existing protocol?

STeven.
Arvind from India  [6 posts] 8 year
Hi Steven, I am partner of Hemant and we are working together. We have access to the device, its a robotic car n takes serial commands as input. But before calibrating that, I want u to suggest ways on making my image processing module more robust. Like I still have no idea on how to deal with turns and obstacle detection. Please guide us in this regard.
Hemant,