Stereo (stereoscopic) Vision object detection
Brenden Geary from United States  [5 posts]
10 year
I am fairly new to Roborealm so excuse me if I sound stupid. I have two webcams 2.5" (roughly the distance between my eyes) apart from each other. I can use the 3D_Viewer to create a cool viewing of the 3D image but how can I use it for:

1: Distance Mapping (Depth Mapping)

2: More accurate object detection

I am looking to be able to have RoboRealm or some other software learn all faces of an object (in a constant lighting environment) and be able to detect it from all sides and across the room. The cameras output full 720p HD video so resolution will not be an issue I just have no idea where to start. Thanks to all that can help.

Sincerly,
Brenden Geary
KJ6HVP
www.brendengeary.com
Steven Gentner from United States  [1446 posts] 10 year
Brenden,

There are a couple of possibilities. You can certainly try using the Stereo module to get a very crude depth map which may be able to help to eliminate background objects. You can also try using the Kinect or Xtion which will provide a better depth map. Again, this would be used to isolate just the object you want to recognize (assuming its the closest thing in the room).

While 720 HD sounds like a lot, in fact its not. Objects even at that resolution "across the room" can easily have only a few pixels in dimension which will not be enough to recognize the object .. but its a good place to start, just don't be surprised if object recognition stops working only a couple feet away from the camera.