image recognistion with response
John Wood from United Kingdom  [67 posts]
12 year
Hi,
I am new to Roborealm and knocking on a bit so treat me gently..
My problem is that I need to identify a shape/s as my webcam pans. The background will be different as it pans. I then require a simple o.p (high or low) and my Pic would do the rest. Could be IR link, just a quick pulse.
Just need that starting point and hopefully I will trial and error my way through it...For a cherry on the cake could it place text against each object on the streaming image...
Pushing 70 ish so please go slowly, I built the electronics for the Cam PTZ, can write basic and work with Photo shop so may help get to grips with the filtering.
But this is all new and just need that helping push in the right direction. Time an't on my side...... ;-)

Cheer in anticipation.... John
Anonymous 12 year
Hi John

Can you post a video of what you describe on YouTube and send us a link

Thanks
John Wood from United Kingdom  [67 posts] 12 year
Hi,
Thanks for such a quick response.
I will try and explain what I built and what it does.
We have approx 8 to 12 boats on anchorage on the river, basically all in a line. I have a camera with a servo to pan the camera and stepper motors control zoom and focus.
These are controled with a Pic, this holds the position of the boats..but some are on swinging moorings so these have at least two programmed positions  so one of these positions is a vacant view, as is any boat that leaves the mooring and it miss any that are added to the mooring until I reprogram the Pic for it to stop at the new positions.It pans approx 120 deg.
I wish to automate this, see boat, pause,add boat name.etc..the system works great but a pain adding or taking out stop positions...sorry  I can not show you the link as the moorings are empty until April and due to security are not public domain.
Cheers John