Newbie question
Bram from Belgium  [5 posts]
14 year
Hello all,

I am currently trying to build a led pick and place machine, but in order to place the leds correctly I need to know how the led is positioned in the feeder. Attached are the 2 possibilities, is this something robo realm can do? If so how would I start on this, I am new to the vision part of cnc. Also, I would need a output pulse (1) on the lpt port pin2 if it is correct, and a pulse (1) on pin 3 if it is not correct. But it has to be either one of them. I guess I first have to detect motion as the led moves in front of the camera, and then see if it matches the correct way, if not then mark it as bad, so that only correct positioned leds are placed on the pcb.

Hope someone can point me in the right direction.
regards,
Bram

Anonymous 14 year
Bram,

Yes, seems like this should be possible. We are assuming that the position of the LED is what makes it pass/fail?

Attached is an example of how you would test for pass fail position and send the appropriate pin signal on the parallel port.

Note that we are detecting the position of the LED by using an edge detector, cropping to eliminate all but the led and then the COG in order to tell the X position of the LED.

Give it a try and let us know if this is what you were looking for...

STeven.
program.robo
Bram from Belgium  [5 posts] 14 year
Hi STeven,

Thanks for the reply, but in fact it is the way the led passes on the conveyer rail that makes it pas of fail, a LED has a cathode and a anode, and I need to be sure that the leds pass correctly on the conveyer belt type of transport system before they are picked up and placed on the pcb.
The leds pass at about 2 pcs per second, if this is too fast, we could slow it down to about, but not less than 1 led every 1,4 seconds.