Need Advice for a Competition
Muhammad Haris Iqbal from Pakistan  [4 posts]
15 year
Hello Experts out there!
Can anyone be kind enough to guide me on this competition?

Check out the site:
http://www.ceme.edu.pk/nerc/

I've got my base ready with peg insertion mechanism installed.

I need expert advice on RoboRealm, about how can I achive my goal? What Strategy should I use? What Modules should I use?

Ive got Dimension Engineering Sabertooth 2X5 motor controller, which I am intending to use with the laptop n the base!

Someone Please Guide!
Muhammad Haris Iqbal from Pakistan  [4 posts] 15 year
Still no replys? :(

Guide me I am new to this world.
Anonymous 15 year
Muhammad,

1. The best thing to do right now is to familiarize yourself with the floor-plan and ensure that you have ample access to one in order for testing. If you don't have access to one start building one as you will need it in order to test your robot.

2. Then decide on what sensors you will be using to accomplish the tasks. Seems like IR distance sensors and/or vision might be used for this. In terms of vision you will need to take some sample images from the ROBOT's point of view in order to understand what it will be seeing and how the objects may appear in various lighting situations.

This will be the hardest part as you will need sensors to perform various tasks.

1. Navigation (are you going to use the white lines or not?)
2. Picking up the peg (how do you know where the peg storage is and how do you know when you have reached the storage device to pick up a peg).
3. How will you detect the location to put the pegs. They mention a transparent device which will probably be very hard to use vision to see.