Unstable behaviour of 2.1.0.3
Frank Steinke from Australia  [3 posts]
15 year
Hello,

As a complete newbie to RoboRealm I'm trying a out a few simple things in the image processing area of static (file) images, and after a great start, am now finding the program's behaviour very erratic and unstable. The version is 2.1.0.3 on XP, SP2.

Various behaviours: frequent crashing, refusing to run a module unless program restarted (fill 0), spurious artifacts on the edge of a simple .gif which vary depending on zoom; most serious seems to be an inability to handle B&W images with lots of 1 pixel lines. The image I've been playing with is http:sound.westhost.com/p117-f1.gif, an electronics schematic, and a guaranteed way to crash the program is to attempt a Grassfire Erode on the .gif.

At the moment I am rapidly losing confidence in the program, so hope some light can be shed on my situation ...

Thanks for listening,
Frank
Frank Steinke from Australia  [3 posts] 15 year
Thanks very much for responding so fast to the Grassfire bug, Ver. 2.1.1.1 has sorted that out, and appears so far to have resolved the fill 0 peculiarity. Sorry to have come over as a bit tetchy, but when dealing with new software there's typically an enthusiasm-disappointment-resignation/acceptance cycle that one goes through, and I posted at the trough unfortunately!

I will say, as many others have, that overall I am very impressed with the capability and comprehensiveness of RoboRealm, and am keen again to explore its possibilities.

Having said that, unfortunately the zoom artifacts still occur. Image is Binary_logo.gif, from RoboRealm's own help pages, the "RoboRealm" label used for demonstrating many of the modules. Zooming from higher values to 100% excites numerous "noise" artifacts on the edge of the image, which are different each time you do it.