Object counting
Sebastian Johnson from Sweden  [9 posts]
15 year
I am a total noob when it comes to RoboRealm and programming in general. But i am eager to learn. I wonder if somebody can point me in the right direction in a project concerning people counting.  I have a USB camera mounted in the cealing of a shop. It look straight down on the floor beneath. What i want is to identify what probably is a person moving across the floor. When they reach a defined line and cross it i want the crossing to be counted. The counting should be bi directional so crossing in one direction will increase the "in" value, and crossing in the other, the "out" value.  If several people pass at the same time and even in different directions they all should be counted individually. A person must be identified as just a person so that for example a shopping cart wont be counted as another person or cause the counting to fail because the two blobs are somewhat interconnected.  What filters etc should i look at to do this (if it can be done at all). Is RR able to output data to some kind of rudimentary database or even for example trigger some event on the serial port when a confirmed count is done? I know it is not popular to ask these thing without first investigate it deeper myself, but it would probably save a lot of time if You pushed me the right way regarding what filters etc to use. The floor between the cam is a single color (grey).   What would be the best way to isolate a person? Would it be a shape thing? Im thinking head+shoulders should be universally usable to identify a person. But there will be some distortion in this if a person enters far off center of the camera view. Could this be compensated? Would it be an idea to use some form of image bank containing samples of what a person might look like as a reference for the search for moving people? Can RoboRealm do that? ANY kind of suggestions are highly appreciated.
Anonymous 15 year
Sebastian,